Steam

Computer hardware, software and other technology related topics.

Steam

Postby Cowardly on Wed Jul 13, 2011 14:26

Okay, having problems and none of the results on google suffice soooooo

Whenever I start up steam it shows the update bar (which doesn't fill) for a while, then it dissapears and is left with a box that says
"Steam (main exception) to run steam you must first connect to the internet"

The problem? I'm connected to the internet

Can't figure this out to save my life. Initially it let me play in offline mode, but then I delete all of my information to reinstall steam and well now I can't even do that.

So far I've tried:
Stopping my firewall
Stopping my antivirus
Disconnecting and reconnecting to the internet
Hard resetting my router
Restarting my pc
Deleting everything but Steam.exe and Steamapps
Reinstalling steam
some other stuff I cant remember

Great. Is it now happening on my Laptop too. WHY

Cowardly
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 16:54
Location: Canis Latrans. Super Genius.
Highscores: 1

Re: Steam

Postby burnfire88 on Wed Jul 13, 2011 14:41

Did you try the stuff in this thread?
http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/s ... p?t=976072
I'd try deleting the .blob file if you haven't, whenever I have problems I usually do that and it works, just don't have Steam running when you do delete it.
Other than that I'm not sure, that sounds like a damn odd problem.
Image
OB_rocks13 wrote:Chill

As soon as you become mod, ban ransom for a day

if you have the balls to do it

burnfire88
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 5214
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 18:56
Highscores: 19

Re: Steam

Postby Cowardly on Wed Jul 13, 2011 14:51

Not only have I deleted that, i've delete everything in the steam folder (apart from the .exe and steamapps)

Cowardly
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 16:54
Location: Canis Latrans. Super Genius.
Highscores: 1

Re: Steam

Postby burnfire88 on Wed Jul 13, 2011 15:09

I hate to say this but maybe a fresh reinstall of your OS? Have you tried emailing support about it?
Image
OB_rocks13 wrote:Chill

As soon as you become mod, ban ransom for a day

if you have the balls to do it

burnfire88
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 5214
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 18:56
Highscores: 19

Re: Steam

Postby Cowardly on Wed Jul 13, 2011 17:11

Tried the email.

Its apparently really common after the latest updates.

Cowardly
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 16:54
Location: Canis Latrans. Super Genius.
Highscores: 1

Re: Steam

Postby Saladin on Wed Jul 13, 2011 21:07

That's totally bizarre.

Have you tried using a different internet connection entirely? That's the only thing I can think of.
Image

Saladin
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 22:39
Location: DANCE MASTAH!

Re: Steam

Postby Cowardly on Wed Jul 13, 2011 22:37

Not an option available to me right now

Cowardly
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 16:54
Location: Canis Latrans. Super Genius.
Highscores: 1

Re: Steam

Postby Saladin on Fri Jul 15, 2011 18:46

Ok, I had the same problem on my laptop. I managed to fix it, I think, by changing internet connections.

I don't know how you're going to pull it off, but that should fix it. Try asking a neighbor if you can log into their wifi real fast or something.
Image

Saladin
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 22:39
Location: DANCE MASTAH!

Re: Steam

Postby Cowardly on Fri Jul 15, 2011 20:52

I'm in Uni halls, and set to move out next week.

I came to the same conclusion you have - its the network.

Theres nothing I can do about this.

Cowardly
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 16:54
Location: Canis Latrans. Super Genius.
Highscores: 1

Re: Steam

Postby samuelmonaghan_aussie on Mon Jul 18, 2011 08:57

well i cant start steam games in offline mode... but im not gonna even try to fix it since my net goes out tonight and only gonna be a week without it.
Mr Smith wrote:Can we still say cunt even if Chill is still here?

samuelmonaghan_aussie
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6102
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 09:51
Location: Whyalla bru

Re: Steam

Postby Saladin on Mon Jul 18, 2011 20:41

To start games in offline mode, you have to have logged in once with the "Save this password" option. That should make it work. To test it, log in with the save password option, then click start in offline mode. If it works, then it should also work when the internet is off.

But, again, you need to have your password saved for it to work, which kinda sucks.
Image

Saladin
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 22:39
Location: DANCE MASTAH!

Re: Steam

Postby Cowardly on Mon Jul 18, 2011 20:50

I deleted the information in order to fresh install steam, which didn't work.

So I basically fucked myself even more.

Cowardly
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 16:54
Location: Canis Latrans. Super Genius.
Highscores: 1

Re: Steam

Postby Saladin on Mon Jul 18, 2011 21:06

Like I said, what worked for me was using another internet connection. I'm not positive that's what it was, but that's what it seems like.
Image

Saladin
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 22:39
Location: DANCE MASTAH!

Re: Steam

Postby Cowardly on Mon Jul 18, 2011 21:19

If i didn't use the university network I would be set. Because I am, I am fucked.

Cowardly
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6092
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 16:54
Location: Canis Latrans. Super Genius.
Highscores: 1

Re: Steam

Postby samuelmonaghan_aussie on Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:24

Chill wrote:If i didn't use the university network I would be set. Because I am, I am fucked.

dont you have family?

oh, its like that....
Mr Smith wrote:Can we still say cunt even if Chill is still here?

samuelmonaghan_aussie
Spider Mastermind
Spider Mastermind
User avatar
 
Posts: 6102
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 09:51
Location: Whyalla bru

Next

Return to Hardware, software & technology

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron